Posted in ECI 834, Summary of Learning

Summary of Learning

Completing a summary of learning is never a simple task. I suppose that is why it’s called a s-u-m-m-a-r-y. Having to summarize a semester of learning is never easy.

One comment that stands out in my mind is Andres saying, “Make sure you start planning WEEKS ahead!” Does it count if I have been thinking about it for weeks?

I have used VideoScribe and Adobe Sparke for previous Summary of Learning’s. I found that Adobe Sparke was more user friendly than VideoScribe.

This semester I enjoyed developing my skills with iMovie. My brother creates great iMovies through the app and I have always loved them. One of my previous blog posts, Finally Tried iMovie outlines my experience.

To create this video, I used the iMovie app on my iPad. If you haven’t used iMovie before, you are given options to create a trailer (basically it is exactly like an Movie Trailer) or a Movie. I created an iMovie trailer and then used the trailer in the Movie. I included photos, short video clips, word clouds and screen-casts using Screencast-O-Matic. I downloaded all videos to YouTube and added a sound affect or two. It was a lot of fun and I’m glad it is done!

Thank you to Alec and Katia for planning and creating an online space conducive to learning, communicating with our peers, and providing us with, what seems like every single educational tool available to consider when planning our Online/blended Course Prototype. I think the results of our prototypes speak to the amount of work you both put into this course.

Thank you to everyone in EC&I 834! I am always inspired and motivated to try just a little bit harder because of all of you!

I hope you enjoy my Summary of Learning video!

Author:

My name is Jennifer and I am a Grade 4/5 teacher with the Regina Public School Board. I am taking my 8th class towards my Master's degree in Curriculum and Instruction. EC&I 833 Foundations of Educational Technology: History, Theory, and Practice.

2 thoughts on “Summary of Learning

Leave a Reply

