Posted in ECI 834

Winding Down our Course Prototypes

Learning about blended and online learning has been something very new to me. I find that writing a blog post about new concepts is challenging and often time, overwhelming.


Photo Credit: AuthenticAng11 Flickr via Compfight cc

For myself, I have only experienced online classes with Alec and Katia’s EC&I courses. Other than that, one of my master’s classes used UR Courses as a message board and for sharing content.

This semester, I have continued to learn something new every week and realized that the saying “The more you know, the more you realize you don’t know, ” continues to be very true!

As EC&I 834 winds down, the finishing touches have been added to our course prototypes, changes have been made and modules have been added.

For myself, I switched what I had originally planned to do. Needless to say, I felt a tad bit panicky! For my course module, I was in charge of planning the introduction to Genius Hour. I planned to create a slideshow on Google Slides and then I would create a screencast. I soon realized that this would not require 5-15 minutes of content AND the introduction is supposed to HOOK the learner.

Luckily, my class had been working on creating an iMovie in Language Arts and I had made an iMovie trailer once before, so I felt confident enough to give it a try.  It went very well and I was able to use many of my own photos in the video. I didn’t want to have to worry about having to credit all the photos, so this plan worked out splendidly!

Take a look!

If you are interested in trying Genius Hour in your classroom, you will want to check out our Course Prototype. You will find modules that also cover, Digital Citizenship, coming up with “Your Driving Question,” the importance of “Quality Research,” “Presentation Tools,” and “Assessment.”

If you would like to leave a comment, please click on the title!

Author:

My name is Jennifer and I am a Grade 4/5 teacher with the Regina Public School Board. I am taking my 8th class towards my Master's degree in Curriculum and Instruction. EC&I 833 Foundations of Educational Technology: History, Theory, and Practice.

2 thoughts on “Winding Down our Course Prototypes

  1. Jen, it’s been a pleasure working on this course prototype with you! I’m proud of you for all the work you’ve accomplished and watching the ways you have grown in your comfortability of using tech! Don’t stop now that the course is almost over!

    Like

Leave a Reply

