Posted in ECI 834

Class Number 4, Here We Go…

My name is Jennifer Huber and I am working on my fourth class with Alec and Katia. This will be my 9th class towards my degree and I plan to take a spring class and finish my master’s degree before the summer! I have learned more than I ever would have imagined from our fearless leaders; as well as each and every person taking these courses. Ultimately, after all the learning, uh huh moments, wows, disbelief, achievements, “ooh, I’m going to try that in my class,” etc., I realize there is still so much more to learn out there in the World Wide Web!

I have been an educator for 24 years (9 years as an Educational Assistant in PreK) and  have taught Grade 4 (or 4/5 split) for the past 7 years. I have definitely always loved this age group!

keep-calm-grade-4-rocks

Photo Credit

       This will be my 3rd year team teaching at Dr. Hanna School and it has been going well! My team teaching partner Lisa and I work very well together. We have similar ideologies and pedagogies in our daily practices, have fun together, and are able to balance our strengths and weaknesses within the subjects we teach. Team teaching allows us to have more time with smaller groups and/or to work with students one on one. We continue to add technology in our teaching whenever we can (depending on computer availability) and are both open to trying something different in hopes that it provides more support for our students.

img_5130

          I am lucky to have a team teaching partner who supports me throughout my process of learning. When I am excited about something I learned in an EC&I technology course and would like to try it with our students, she always encourages me to “Go for it!”

Check out our classroom blog if you have a few minutes!

  • My goals for EC&I 834 will be to comment on more blogs each week. I find that I have comments that I’m thinking about while reading and then fail to type them at the end due to lack of time or feeling exhausted.
  • I plan to continue my activity on twitter, share more posts and develop more of a network.
  • I definitely plan on being more relaxed and hope to feel more at ease this semester. I intend to be more present in my learning and positive about the ups and downs of what is thrown at me in everyday life. A lot has been thrown my way in 2016 so I am looking forward to a smoother 2017!

Author:

My name is Jennifer and I am a Grade 4/5 teacher with the Regina Public School Board. I am taking my 8th class towards my Master's degree in Curriculum and Instruction. EC&I 833 Foundations of Educational Technology: History, Theory, and Practice.

One thought on “Class Number 4, Here We Go…

Leave a Reply

