Posted in ECI 833

AR & VR Plugged In!

My experience using or teaching with Augmented or Virtual Reality is pretty much nil! I am familiar with games like Minecraft and I’ve heard a lot about Pokeman Go (not just from Alec). I have also watched numerous examples of virtual and augmented reality on TV shows and in movies. Yet, I really haven’t given it a second thought, other than thinking it was “Cool!” In this day and age, I am introduced to new technological innovations almost on an everyday basis. It’s almost embarrassing to think that I am missing out on so many opportunities to explore such an engaging and meaningful way of learning.

After Logan and Bill’s presentation on Tuesday, my level of interest and intrigue continued to swirl around in my head. According to Hatuna Matata’s article, Augmented Reality is in the lead. Who knew there WAS a lead? The difference between the two is described as;

With AR, users continue to be in touch with the real world while interacting with virtual objects around them. With VR, the user is isolated from the real world while immersed in a world that is completely fabricated.

augmented-reality-vs-virtual-reality
Augmented VS Virtual Reality

It is not surprising that Augmented Reality is in the lead due to the fact that users are “in touch” with the real world. Meron Geretz‘ viewpoint about being in touch with the real world really does make sense. Pokeman Go is a great example of a game that provides real life interaction with friends and family while progressing through the game. It seemed unreal when I first heard about it, but Meron Geretz’ Ted Talk video helped me to realize the value in it. Building interaction rather than isolation seems like the logical choice to me.

Edutopia’s article; Augmented Reality Brings New Dimensions to Learning describes it as redefining the learning space. The article states that;

 

 

Most people who interact with AR for the first time have a mind-blowing experience but fail to consider classroom applications. In our elementary school classrooms, we use AR to create active learning experiences hitherto inconceivable.

It is surprising that people who interact with AR ‘fail to consider classroom applications’ and/or how augmented reality can ‘redefine the learning space.’ I am guilty of not considering it myself. Most of my day is so consumed with the hustle and bustle of a hectic school day that I do not often think about what else I could be doing until I am introduced (via EC&I 833) or stumble upon these opportunities by chance.

In the YouTube video, Teaching with Aurasma, it is easy to see how a classroom space does become redefined. A bulletin board is typically filled with student work or colourful art work, rather than covered with 8 1/2 x 11″ white paper with black font. It is hard to imagine our bulletin boards and classroom spaces becoming part of an augmented reality where black font on white paper comes to life in video and a fourth dimension. Mind blowing hardly describes the experiences and mindful learning that has started taking place in our classrooms.

I remember hearing about Aurasma at one of my classes during the Summer Institute in 2015. I downloaded the app and then basically forgot all about it. I had the app on my phone for over a year and had never used it. I’m not exactly sure why I didn’t just google what it was and actually start using it. One possibility is that I was taking 2 classes in 3 weeks!

I am definitely intrigued with Aurasma and am looking forward to using it in my classroom. I already have plans to use it for book reviews. From there, the options seem to be endless! Bill and Logan not only piqued my interest but Tyson, Allison, and Luke (just to name a few) seem to be intrigued as well.

The question is; Where do I go from here? Aurasma will be a great starting point and from there I would love to learn more about the 4D Classroom and get my hands on Google cardboard.

This video seems to be a great place to start. The problem is, there are 1000s more just like it! I just remind myself to take it one step at a time and continue to plug into life long learning.

Author:

My name is Jennifer and I am a Grade 4/5 teacher with the Regina Public School Board. I am taking my 8th class towards my Master's degree in Curriculum and Instruction. EC&I 833 Foundations of Educational Technology: History, Theory, and Practice.

2 thoughts on “AR & VR Plugged In!

  1. I really like the idea of using Aurasma for book reviews. The video you posted seemed pretty awesome! Reminds me of QR codes. I do have one concern regarding the way it was used in the video. Would other students be able to record or screen shot of other students who may not want to be? I think that schools need to start having way more detailed technology use contracts to make sure teachers feel that they can use all these tools freely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

