Posted in ECI 833

An Assessment Tool for the Rapper in You

This week my group, Tyson, Natalie, Nicole, and myself (@MissHuber6) presented on Assessment Technologies. As per usual, my group and I discovered an overabundance of technology tools that are currently available. Our group shared lists of the top Assessment Tools; 35 Formative Assessment tools,  Top Tech Tools for Formative Assessment, and Fantastic Comprehensive List of Assessment Tools for Teachers, which lists 40 assessment tools. Through Google Forms, Nicole created a questionnaire that asked what was the favourite assessment tools being utilized among our classmates in EC&I 833.

screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-5-43-16-pm

Not surprisingly, many teachers in EC&I 833 are already using many of the tools that were found in the articles shared on our Weekly Schedule document. As well, many of these tools were new, already being used as an assessment tool, or in many cases, had never been heard of before (myself included). I continually appreciate having the opportunity to collaborate and learn from one another during class and through sharing of our weekly blogs. I’ve enjoyed reading many blogs this week and, as a result, am feeling excited about trying some of the tools that have been enthusiastically shared.

As per usual, as a Grade 4 teacher in a school with limited access to Chrome books and students with limited access to (BYOD) their own devices, I can say that I have not experienced using many of these tools in my classroom. What I did come to realize is that, I had better get on it! In the process, I continuously ask myself many questions;

  • Am I not implementing enough Formative assessments?
  • Are my current assessment tools enough?
  • Am I engaging my students enough each day?
  • Am I implementing “Show what you know,” as Erin shared, throughout my planning (daily lesson plans) and assessment choices?

Throughout this process I realize, once again, to give my favourites a try, one step at a time!

As a result, my ideologies and teaching philosophies are shifting and I’m seeing my role as a teacher through a slightly different lens. When I think about my students blogging, I am asking myself if I am actually using it as an assessment tool or simply because it includes technology and the students enjoy it.

Shift #1 -switch my class to Blogger instead of Kidblog. After a discussion with Natalie, Kyle, Luke, and Ashley on Google Community a couple weeks ago, I was convinced that Blogger is a better fit for my students. It has more functions, will hopefully become compatible with GAFE, and will be more user friendly.

Shift #2– Transition my mindset to being more open to technology tools that require (BYOD). I haven’t asked my students to bring their own devices before so I really don’t know what it will be like until I give it a shot. I have taken away quite a few devices to know that many of my students do have them.

This week’s blog posts, as well as Nicole’s Google Form’s findings, show that Kahoot is a favourite. kahoot1 I have participated with Kahoot a number of times and I see the draw and excitement of Kahoot even though I have never won! I appreciate reading about the enthusiasm that Heidi’s, Krista’s, and Roxanne’s student’s have when participating with Kahoot.

As an adult, I welcome having a game implemented during a meeting or a presentation. It is hard for adults to stay focused on their learning, so providing students an opportunity for a kind of brain break activity, sounds like a great idea to me!

Kahoot reminds me of when the Jeopardy game (minus BYOD) was a popular tool for assessment not so long ago. jeopardyboardIt now appears that FlipQuiz is a newer assessment tool that provides educators with a quick way to create your own gameshow-style boards for test reviews in the classroom. flipquizTraditionally, these are created tediously, using poster board, chalkboards, PowerPoint™ or dry-erase markers on overhead slides.

Another form of assessment I find intriguing is Seesaw. Due to the incredible enthusiasm of Erin and Nicole, I feel compelled to check it out. They have both been extremely passionate, descriptive, helpful, and positive about their students experiences with sharing their learning through Seesaw.

Shift #3; give some a try! I am looking forward to trying Socrative,  Plickers and Google Forms. I appreciated Andrew’s vlog/blog post for the simple fact that he touched on many of the concerns I have with Kahoot and Socrative. I think Plickers would work well for students who may not always have a device to bring to school, it provides a truer example of their progress, and it can decrease the competitive nature of the game. I see a lot of enthusiasm towards Plickers and am really looking forward to trying it in my classroom. I like to mix things up in my classroom as well, so implementing some of these assessment tools will definitely intrigue and grab the interest of my students. We will see which tools work the best!

The assessment tool that I have used regularly this year is Flocabulary. Check out my screencast for more information!

Some of the negatives of Flocabulary is that it is not free. There is a 1 week free trial available to see if you’re interested. One option is to share the cost with your school or other teachers!

Author:

My name is Jennifer and I am a Grade 4/5 teacher with the Regina Public School Board. I am taking my 8th class towards my Master's degree in Curriculum and Instruction. EC&I 833 Foundations of Educational Technology: History, Theory, and Practice.

2 thoughts on “An Assessment Tool for the Rapper in You

Leave a Reply

