Posted in ECI 833

The only constant in the technology industry is change……..by Marc Benioff

The evolution of the web has evolved so swiftly throughout my entire life. I have been apart of the journey, experienced many of the technological advancements and yet, sometimes, I feel like I missed it?!?

the-only-constant-in-the-technology-industry-is-change

Source

Clearly, advancements in technology continue at a very accelerated pace. Just when I feel like I’m finding my way in this highly technologically advanced world, I learn something new and feel like I’ve just taken a huge step back.

Since Tuesday’s presentation on Web 1.0, Web 2.0, and Web 3.0, I feel more intrigued, curious, and increasingly aware of the distinction between the transformation in technology that has been going on for my whole life! I have always been aware of  Web 1.0, 2.0, and 3.0, but now I have a much better understanding of the variations between them.

Elton Boocook’s shares his insights about Web 1.0, Web 2.0, and Web 3.0 in his video Web 1.0, 2.0, and 3.0 and Beyond-Information and Interaction. He explains that Web 1.0 is about sharing information. Simply put, it is ONE WAY communication! One example might be an advertisement that shares information about their product.

Web 2.0 is about sharing information that people can interact with. Social media such as, Facebook and Twitter or educational sights like Starfall are very engaging. Not only can students interact with letters, sounds, books, and games; but parents and teachers can purchase products online for their student/child to work on at home or school. Web 2.0 is all about TWO WAY communication.

Finally, Web 3.0 is about the computer doing smart stuff! For example, Amazon,’s web server is actually sharing information and choosing recommendations for the particular visitor of the sight. It makes intelligent choices on that person’s behalf. It is referred to as THREE WAY communication between the information, person interacting with it and the server.

 

After reading Jackie Gerstein’s article; Moving from Education 1.0 Through Education 2.0 Towards Education 3.0the connection to the terms Education 1.0, 2.0, and 3.0 are so very true! Gerstein’s analogy, visuals and explanation really made me think. Another ‘Aha’ moment for sure!

I appreciated the visuals that she used to demonstrate the evolution of education especially with reference to the teacher. Natalie’s insight about the placement and size of the teacher compared to the students in Gerstein’s visual representations of Education 1.0, 2.0 and 3.0. represent such a key point, that I believe, Gerstein is making. In order for our students to take a role in their own education, it is important for the teacher to “get out of their way,” as Natalie explains in her post.

 Gerstein states; Teachers prior to the Internet, as we know it today, were one of the primary gatekeepers of information. Education 1.0 was often the best choice given the resources and technologies of that time in history. Similar to Web 2.0, Education 2.0 includes more interaction between the teacher and student; student to student; and student to content and expert. Education 3.0 is more of a heutagogical, connectivist approach to teaching and learning. The teachers, learners, networks, connections, media, resources, and tools create a unique entity that has the potential to meet individual learners’, educators’, and even societal needs. 

Understanding the complexity of the web 2.0 is challenging enough. When considering my role in Education 2.0 moving into 3.0, I feel more overwhelmed, confusion and wonder. It seems that it is necessary for Educators to be”educated” more about Web 3.0, provided with the tools and technology devices to begin such an arduous transition, and provided with a lot of consideration when dealing with the issue of how to shift such an ingrained mindset of a student and teacher’s role in learning. On top of that, there is the consideration of shifting the mindset of families and the public.

As Tyson explains in his post, we are not alone in feeling misunderstandings and having questions concerning Web 3.0. As his research indicates, Web 3.0 is still in the process of being developed, processed and understood. It is no doubt that something so complicated will take time. Education 3.0 is really just getting started. So many educators are still in the process of shifting from Education 1.0-2.0. How much farther behind will Education 3.0 become? The technology gap continues to widen in relation to technology tools provided in schools, let alone accessibility to families who cannot afford internet and/or technology devices.

Speaking of widening the technology gap, Philippe Modard’s Ted talk video: How web 3.0 will change our lives?, leaves me feeling a number of emotions that are challenging to articulate. I don’t know if I’m ready to be controlled by my smart phone telling me who I’m meeting, what I’m doing, where I’m going, what time I should arrive, why I’ve chosen to do this and perhaps some recommendations on how to control my heart rate and level of anxiety about an upcoming stressful event. Yikes! This is hard to imagine!!

When I think back to Natalie’ post, she points out the role of herself as a teacher and to remember, “Less of me, more of them.” For now, I will remind myself to take a step back from the Education 1.0 mentality that still lingers in my head because of the fact that I really ‘do’ enjoy being the “teacher.”  I still have work to do in my own mindset and in learning how to encourage my students to feel comfortable and free to engage and take ownership of their learning. How I will do this? I am not totally sure. I guess just one step at a time.

 

Author:

My name is Jennifer and I am a Grade 4/5 teacher with the Regina Public School Board. I am taking my 8th class towards my Master's degree in Curriculum and Instruction. EC&I 833 Foundations of Educational Technology: History, Theory, and Practice.

3 thoughts on “The only constant in the technology industry is change……..by Marc Benioff

  1. Hey Jennifer. Great insights. It’s very true that this can be quite stressful. Don’t forget that it’ll be much more gradual than we think. Look at how 1.0 and 2.0 blended together in many ways. I think the same will be true for the gradual emersion of 3.0.

    Like

Leave a Reply

