Posted in ECI 833

From Letterless Typewriters to Smartphones….

I really enjoyed going back in time and actually pinpointing when and what type of technology impacted me the most. My most memorable and slight addiction to technology began with Ms. Pacman when I was 8 or 9 years old. Whenever I came across it, I would make every effort to play (even to this day) and during two summer vacations at Kenossee Lake, Sask., I spent quite a few hours putting quarters into my favourite video game. When I made it to “The Chase,” I knew I made it far in the game!

mspacmancabinet

Photo Credit: Wikipedia

If I had the option, I would have spent much more time playing video games than I actually did, due to the simple fact that my parents did not buy my brother and I video games. The only time I played them was at a friend’s house. When I had the opportunity to play on an Atari, I went for it!

atari

Photo Credit: Wikipedia

The third version of the Atari Video Computer System sold from 1980 to 1982

The only video game found in my house was my brother’s handheld Electronic Quarterback game. Surprisingly enough, this game resurfaced this past summer and it still works. Playing it again brought back quite a few memories! When Alec included this game in his presentation last week, I was probably a little bit too excited:(

football

Photo Credit: Wikipedia

Nostalgia aside, one of the most valuable (considering I use it every day) learning experience in high school was taking typing. I remember very little about Computer Science class, but I do know that learning how to type in high school has enabled me to type quickly on computers over the years! Who knew that asdf jkl; would be so important! Learning on a letter less typewriter ensured, “no peeking!” But on the flip side, I had to learn typing without the luxury of “delete” when I made a mistake.

typewriter

Photo Credit: Flickr

As I have been reflecting about my experiences with technology, I am surprised to recall that I did not own a personal computer until 2003 when I finally bought a desktop computer during my first year of teaching. Surprisingly enough, I made it through 6 years of university without my own computer. I spent many hours at my parent’s or friend’s houses in order to complete essays and writing assignments. And yet, my brother saved his money when he started university (late 80s) so he could purchase his own computer for the not so low price of $1999.

For myself, spending that much money was not in my budget or at the top of my list of needs. My brother and I definitely had different outlooks or ‘urgency’ towards technology even though we grew up together in the same house. He was focusing on becoming an Engineer and I wasn’t sure what I would be doing after high school. To this day, our technology tools/toys are quite different. I’ve never owned more than my iphone and Macbook Air, whereas my brother (and his family) have many technology tools (video cameras, video games, go pro, desk top and laptop computers, iwatch, ipads, iphones, etc. Perhaps that explains my initial apprehension when teaching with technology and/or feeling comfortable with the latest trending technology devices.

As I looked back through my technology journey, I found myself watching a few videos about the “Evolution of Technology.” I found it quite interesting and saw more devices and tools that I’d never seen before in comparison to the few I recognized. Enjoy, if you have not watched these yet!

Evolution of the Cell Phone

 

Evolution of the Personal Computer

I am becoming increasingly aware of the differences in my understanding of teaching with technology when comparing myself to my colleagues and classmates. The in-depth insights, range of educational technology tools used in classrooms, and level of ease is certainly diverse. I am continuously amazed and curious about the many facets of educational technology used by the educators that I have come to know through Educational Technology courses. Often times, I feel like I’m out of my league. I try to remember to take a step back and just keep moving forward. I appreciated reading Adam’s blog post stating that,

It is vital to take all the suggestions with a grain of salt and attempt to balance what is truly necessary and what might be more of a hindrance on the practice of my personal teaching practice.

Adam’s statement is very true and something I need to remind myself of more often! Clearly, the videos I shared and the videos all of you #eci833 have shared are evidence of how fast moving technology is and how easy it is to feel overwhelmed with new information, especially after staff meetings or workshops.

My eyes are continuously widening and I learn to look at educational technology through a different lens. Postman’s Five Ideas were intriguing and thought provoking to say the least. His ideas remind me of eci830 where our weekly topics were centered around a topic of debate. It forced each of us to think outside the box more than we likely would have, if we had not been presented with both sides of questions in educational technology. It was very powerful and continuously had me rethinking my initial opinion.

Postman states;

First, that we always pay a price for technology; the greater the technology, the greater the price.

Do we truly think about the price we pay for technology?

 

 

Author:

My name is Jennifer and I am a Grade 4/5 teacher with the Regina Public School Board. I am taking my 8th class towards my Master's degree in Curriculum and Instruction. EC&I 833 Foundations of Educational Technology: History, Theory, and Practice.

One thought on “From Letterless Typewriters to Smartphones….

  1. Great trip down memory lane Jenn. Thanks! I think you make a great point. It’s so important to consider the costs of the technology we use. Ultimately, we have to evaluate out tech use with a student centred lens.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

