Posted in ECI 830, Weekly Reflections

Ready to Go: Part 2

My name is Jennifer Huber and this will be my second class with Alec and Katia. I took EC&I 831 in the Fall of 2014. I was very much a beginner when it came to my technical abilities. I learned so much taking that class and my confidence grew immensely.

shutterstock152059844

link

This will be my 13th year teaching, as well as 9 years working as an EA. I teach grade 4 at Dr. Hanna school where I used to go as a child. In fact I teach in my old grade 4 classroom. What are the chances? I have been team teaching for 2 years now. I find many benefits to working with another teacher such as having support all the time, more options to teach what I feel more confident in, etc. etc. Of course, there are challenges as well, considering there are a total of 49 students in our room. As you all know, these students come with there own unique strengths and challenges. Overall, it works well! The saying, “two heads are better than one” is very true! I have added a few photos through the link on my blog if you are interested in taking a look.

I have increased technology in my classroom by creating a classroom blog where there are links to a variety of technology tools such as learning videos, our class blog, IXL, raz kids, etc. The students blog every 2 weeks and really enjoy it. There are no complaints when it is time to blog. They teach each other how and what to do, help each other with spelling, peer editing, and how to change fonts, backgrounds to make their blog their own!

My goal is to continue to feel comfortable and confident with adding technology to my everyday teaching strategies. There are so many talented and intelligent educators in this class to use as a resource. I know I will be knocking on Amy Singh’s door throughout the semester for her support and guidance. Utilize our  Google classroom community!

 

Author:

My name is Jennifer and I am a Grade 4/5 teacher with the Regina Public School Board. I am taking my 8th class towards my Master's degree in Curriculum and Instruction. EC&I 833 Foundations of Educational Technology: History, Theory, and Practice.

4 thoughts on “Ready to Go: Part 2

Leave a Reply

