Posted in Summary of Learning, Weekly Reflections

Last Blog Post for ECI 831

After completing my summary of learning, I realized I wanted to explain my learning more in depth. The 3 main areas of focus for ECI 831 were twitter, google community, and blogging.

Screen Shot 2014-12-07 at 9.46.39 PMScreen Shot 2014-12-07 at 9.48.15 PMScreen Shot 2014-12-07 at 9.51.27 PM

Screen Shot 2014-12-07 at 9.58.13 PM Screen Shot 2014-12-07 at 9.50.33 PM

 

 

 

 

 

 

I now have a classroom blog with a link to the student blog and to my class twitter page. I have a blog for ECI 831 and am part of google community. WOW! Times have really changed for me over the past 3 1/2 months.

When I first started twitter, I really wasn’t sure how to go about starting a new twitter for the class. I already had one that I rarely used, so I just wanted to stick with what I knew. I was quite hesitant to be starting a blog let alone twitter and understand the concept of google community. Once twitter and blogging started to sink in, I was excited to create a new twitter page for my class as well as  my classroom blog. I finally experienced the “Ah ha,” moment when (almost) everything clicked!

 

Clickers - Universidad de Navarra

Attribution-NoDerivs 2.0 Generic cc

I enjoy twitter so much more now because it is a quick and simple way to show what we are doing in class. With blogging, it allows me to tell a story of special events or lessons to share with students, staff and parents. I look forward to writing a blog about genious hour and mystery skype! Stay tuned…..

Then, as I was going over my blog posts on google community from the beginning and seeing my progression, I noticed that a few of the posts didn’t even link to my blog. Clearly, I did not know what I was doing! That might be why I received no comments for those particular posts. Anyway, I think I have achieved that skill.

A good month into the class, I remember Alec and Katia telling us that we should have categories and to add a pingback. Again, I was very worried because I didn’t know what she meant at all. I just kept hearing these unknown vocabulary words (widgets, tags, networking, digital citizens, edcamp, MOOCS, etc.) and it kind of stressed me out.

Once I had figured out what these terms meant, I was using many of these terms in my daily vocabularly. Just this past weekend, I was talking to my brothers, stepmom and dad. We were discussing how to build their networks. Both my brothers Michael Huber and Paul Huber are on linkedin. My brother Mike is a mortgage broker and he writes blogs about the best mortgage rates, buying and selling homes, investments, etc. They do not use twitter to network so I have been telling them about how twitter helps me build a network in education. My stepmom Linda Huber (formerly a kindergarten teacher) is starting a feng shui business, so she will be sharing her web page soon. Paul works as an Associate Publisher at Business & Industry Magazine.  My dad, Larry Huber has been working in education for years. Currently, he is the Executive Director of the Public Section. He has worked hard in education for years and continues to do so. He is building his skills in technology all the time and contributed to the development of the website for Saskatchewan Public Schools.

Hopefully, I will be able to help my family learn how to network more on Twitter.

0748bbf322ccad     Just a short plug for Paul (on the left) and Mike (on the right).

Please continue to follow my personal and professional blogs!

Thank you for reading my blog and a big thank you to Alec, Katia, and everyone in ECI 831! I hope everyone has a great holiday.

Author:

My name is Jennifer and I am a Grade 4/5 teacher with the Regina Public School Board. I am taking my 8th class towards my Master's degree in Curriculum and Instruction. EC&I 833 Foundations of Educational Technology: History, Theory, and Practice.

2 thoughts on “Last Blog Post for ECI 831

  1. Hey Jennifer. Awesome blog! I think a lot of us were unfamiliar with things like blogs, and twitter. I had a chance to check out your feed and wow- great leaps and bounds into proficiency and use. I’m still trying to figure out how to ‘get into’ twitter. I like using it for pics and quick posts- that I can link to my other networks (i.e. facebook/instagram) but thanks for posting those interesting links and resources. Your blog looks super seasonal- in a good way. It was nice studying with you! J.

    Like

    1. Thanks Johnny! I literally was just reading your blog and watching your videos. You are very talented as a writer and poet. Your choice of words and your message is very inspiring. I find myself learning in when I watch your videos and can tell it’s a passion of yours! It was great studying with you too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

