Posted in Final Project, Weekly Reflections

So Many Options, Now What to do?

This blog post relates so well to my weekly reflections and my final project that I am combining it for this week.

After last weeks class I definitely felt like I needed to step up my game a little. I think the picture Clayton posted in his blog post pretty much sums it up. I started by setting up a classroom twitter @MissHuber6, started a new class blog on Kidblog, and added widgets to my blog. This was a big deal for me!

I wish I was one of those people who can just sit down at the computer and tackle a new challenge, knowing that I will figure it out eventually. Unfortunately, this is NOT me. I revert back to my childhood/teenage years, loose all confidence, and become frustrated. It’s sad but true! I look something like this……

5623272456_8c269fbd47

Photo Credit: pateleto via flickr cc

After I completed this task (with help)  I was very happy and annoyingly showing people the widgets I added.

My plan for the final project is to set up a class website that I use at least 3x per week. Back in September, my team teaching partner and I  @mrsjones_jones set up a class website called Mrs. Jones and Miss Huber’s Fantastic, Fabulous Class at Weebly with the intention that our students have quick access to websites we are using regularly. I truly intended for that to be the extent of our website. Of course, that is not the case anymore.

 

Now that I have twitter, kidblog, and started a class website I am trying to decide the best way to go. I would like everything linked to one website that looks attractive and inviting.  Should I stick with the weebly website or set up the website on kidblog? I’ve read a number of #eci831 posts where people are suggesting  google apps for this but with my grade level and the small number of computers I’m not sure how it will work.

stock-photo-difficult-question-67817512Photo Credit: Palto via Shutterstock cc

Our next step is to learn about digital citizenship before we actually start blogging. Today, we watched some videos on Digital Citizenship, I showed the class our twitter accounts and the Kidblog page. They were excited to see some of their pictures up and by the end of the day, I had about 5 parents following me.

I look forward to trying new ways to include technology in my classroom. If my website looks anything like Minds in Bloom then I’ll know that I stepped up my game and then some! Her lesson on Using QR Codes in the Classroom looks like a lot of fun. Can’t wait!

If you have any links to fabulous websites like Minds in Bloom, I can use a few more examples to work from! What classroom website format would you go with? So many options, now what to do!?

 

Author:

My name is Jennifer and I am a Grade 4/5 teacher with the Regina Public School Board. I am taking my 8th class towards my Master's degree in Curriculum and Instruction. EC&I 833 Foundations of Educational Technology: History, Theory, and Practice.

Leave a Reply

