Posted in Weekly Reflections

Tech Safety!

tech-safe

Keeping Kids Tech Safe

Week after week I keep trying to make sense of my understanding of technology. I sit down Tuesday at 7 pm, enjoying the comfort of home, connect to Blackboard and wonder what new revelations will be made, hope that some connections and previous understanding is already there, and try not to stress about the fact that I am on information technology overload. I am sure I can speak for most of us when sharing this quote by Aristotle,“The more you know, the more you know you don’t know.”

This week, Bonnie spoke to us about network identity. I feel like I have somewhat of an understanding about censoring my identity on line through Facebook and Instagram. I’ve learned from other people what not to do, changed my privacy settings for more security, I limit what I post regularly, and I’ve removed photos that I felt could be construed as inappropriate. With that said, I have personally experienced having my online bank account hacked and money was stolen from my savings account. I think it was around $4000 dollars by the time I noticed. Fortunately, the money was returned to me, but it made me more aware when it comes to my identity online. Needless to say, it kept me from joining other networking sites. Partly because I am trying to be safe on line and also from lack of understanding about what else is out there.

I really connected to Jocelyn’s blog post because she spoke about how much we open ourselves up to the internet and how much more we learn because of it. Every week during our Blackboard session and checking daily emails, (Google community) I often have “ah ha” moments where I make connections to others and discover amazing resources and teachers practices happening in our schools.

We have all started a blog, a twitter account, and became a member of Google community. By networking in these 3 ways, it has turned into so much more. We are putting ourselves out there so much more than every before, taking risks and learning a ton of information. Some might say, “Technologically savvy!”  Now that I have been a far greater internet participant over these past few weeks, it’s something I’m very glad to understand for myself as well as for my students.

For me personally, I wouldn’t characterize myself as being “Technologically savvy” quite yet, but I’m learning and taking more risks (which for me is a big deal). That is always a good thing!  Now that I am researching each week and looking for new information, I am bookmarking and ‘pinning’ great ideas and visuals.

Here are a couple that might be helpful:

child identity safety

Child Identity Safety

This video is a short overview so that children understand how and why to change their privacy settings on facebook.

https://www.youtube.com/watch/?v=-Dn1Jmqecvk

Does anyone know of a short video to teach children about online safety for 9-12 year olds?

 

 

 

 

Author:

My name is Jennifer and I am a Grade 4/5 teacher with the Regina Public School Board. I am taking my 8th class towards my Master's degree in Curriculum and Instruction. EC&I 833 Foundations of Educational Technology: History, Theory, and Practice.

3 thoughts on “Tech Safety!

  1. Jennifer – I love how you are using lots of links in your posts. As for your images – I’m wondering, are they copyrighted images? Make sure that they are free to use – just linking to the website is not technically legal. Also, think about how you might title your posts differently to draw readers in a bit more, and how you might make your questions a bit more open-ended to encourage discussion!

    Like

Leave a Reply

