Posted in Weekly Reflections

Response to blogging!

Here is my response to Sue’s class last week about blogging.

I first tried blogging in my grade 1 class about 7 years ago. It was perfect because I had a really small class and I thought it would be a great way to include technology into my teaching. So, I connected with a consultant who came out to my class and helped me set up a class blog. She was very enthusiastic and so was I. I was thinking, “Awesome, I will be able to incorporate technology, I will have more time to do it, and everything will be great!”

The consultant helped the students in my class create an art picture and we posted everyone’s beautiful picture. It was exciting and I felt like my students would be doing more than just pencil and paper activities. Next, my students wrote a response to a science lesson (I believe) to explain what they had learned. All was good and I felt proud of our blog!

Unfortunately, this was our last blog entry for that class and every class in between:( Sad but true!)

After listening to Sue last week, I realized that I was incorporating a class blog into my classroom for the simple reason that I felt inadequate in my teaching of technology. I really didn’t set up a blog for the right reason, which is to see growth in students achievements, to have an audience for students to write for/to, so students can be excited to share their work with family/friends, to meet differentiation of students, to give students a way to show their personal strengths, and the list goes on.

After watching the video suggested by Sue, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NjwUHXoi8lM, I realized that I have some learning to do. I don’t have enough patience to spend the time trying to figure out how to have the side bars, headers and footers. Yikes! Unfortunately, it just doesn’t come naturally. I hope to show some evidence of growth to all my blog followers from eci831. I know that I’m not alone and if anyone has suggestions I will welcome them.

Since I am team teaching this year, my teaching partner Lisa, suggested we set up a classroom blog. Since this was at the beginning of the year when we had a very long, “TO DO” list, I told her I wasn’t interested. Since my blogging experience didn’t exactly work well the first time, I wasn’t too interested. Needless to say, I am going to give it a try. My plan is to start with Sue’s step by step instructions http://teacherchallenge.edublogs.org/step-1-set-up-your-class-blog/ and go from there.

If anyone has some simple suggestions (I don’t know if I can handle much more than simple, lol) I would love to hear them!

Thank you for reading!

Jennifer Huber

Author:

My name is Jennifer and I am a Grade 4/5 teacher with the Regina Public School Board. I am taking my 8th class towards my Master's degree in Curriculum and Instruction. EC&I 833 Foundations of Educational Technology: History, Theory, and Practice.

4 thoughts on “Response to blogging!

  1. Hi Jennifer, I can understand your reservations. I am not a technological type of person but what I can say is that the step by step process is a great way to start. I took a saturday afternoon and actually printed off all the steps and went through them creating my blog. It took lots of coffee and a few choice words but in the end it was really good. Sue is a great help if you need her and responds quite quickly. Enjoy the journey Jennifer.

    Like

      1. Domage pour Isner…Je pense que s’il améliore un poil ses frappe il peut faire pas mal de dégâts !!Mais il est vrai que faire des services a 230Km/h ça aide et il a bien raison d’en profiter ! Tout comme Nadal profite bien de sa puissance mu.eelaircsJ’uspère que Isner sera tout de même content de son match ! Il y a de quoi en garder un bon souvenir malgré tout !

        Like

Leave a Reply

