Posted in Weekly Reflections

Rhizomatic Learning

After last weeks class with Dave Cormier on Rhizomatic Learning, I was pretty confused. I wasn’t exactly sure what it was and it didn’t sound even similar to the way I teach. I was overwhelmed and overloaded with information. There wasn’t much time for reflection because I was off to Kenosee for Internship seminar. I was enjoying hot September weather, being outdoors surrounded by the beauty of fall, and connecting with peers and my intern. Needless to say, I wasn’t thinking about rhizomatic learning.

I finally sat down last night and I spent a good 3 1/2 hours reading through everyone’s posts, project ideas, MOOCs, etc. Again, very overwhelming but I now have many ideas and options rolling around in my head.

I have been interested in inquiry learning in my classroom for a few years now. I finally jumped at the opportunity when I spoke to one of our school’s consultants. Together a group of us planned an Inquiry unit for the Grade 4 Science unit on Light.  We used ipads and iphones to take pictures of light (artificial and natural), shadows outside in winter time, and to show how light reflects. Rather than class always taking place in the classroom, we were outside, moving throughout the school, in the Science room, and in the mini gym.

For this particular lesson, the students were given mats, flashlights, and mirrors. They were told to create a fort with at least 2 corners. We asked one simple question, “How can the light from your flashlight start at one end and comes out the other side?”

The lesson was a lot of fun and the kids learned in a less typical, but more hands on way. A lot of fun!

ImageImage 1Image 5

Image 7

I hope to take what I learned in this unit and this class to move more away from paper/pencil in the classroom type teaching and closer to a rhizomatic way of learning. The idea of this lesson sounded like a lot of fun but in the back of my mind, I was nervous about what might happen. I was going to be letting my students work out a problem without giving specific instructions on how to do it? Yikes! I hope everything goes well! I learned that it was well worth it and my student were able to experience something different from our day to day learning.

Any thoughts or suggestions for primary classrooms? After reading everyone’s posts, I’m finding that there are more highschool teachers and the technology activities discussed are things I’ve never heard of and/or way over my head at this point. Yikes!

Author:

My name is Jennifer and I am a Grade 4/5 teacher with the Regina Public School Board. I am taking my 8th class towards my Master's degree in Curriculum and Instruction. EC&I 833 Foundations of Educational Technology: History, Theory, and Practice.

2 thoughts on “Rhizomatic Learning

  1. Looks like a fun inquiry lesson! I am teaching grade 2 (for the first time) and in my job sharing partnership I am responsible for the inquiry based subjects (social & science) and a smattering of other things. Right now we’re studying community so we are taking a community walk under the guise of a quest (we are on a scouting mission from another planet;)! Moving on to life sciences (life cycles, etc.) soon. Let me know if you’ve got any great inquiry ideas to share!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

